Press "Enter" to skip to content

Union YAS Minister Shri Anurag Singh Thakur hold bilateral meetings with international sports federation representatives Jean-Christophe Rolland and Lord Sebastian Coe


Union Minister Shri Anurag Singh Thakur held two bilateral meeting with prominent sports personalities and representatives of  international sports federations in Mumbai today evening. The meetings were held an evening prior to the 141st International Olympic Committee (IOC) Session which is scheduled to be held in the city tomorrow.

The Union Youth Affairs and Sports (YAS) and I&B Minister Shri Anurag Singh Thakur held the first bilateral meeting with the President of World Rowing Federation Jean-Christophe Rolland, while the second bilateral meeting was with the President of the International Association of Athletics Federations, Lord Sebastian Coe.


The bilateral meetings focussed on:

  1. Sharing expertise in sports science and medicine to improve the overall health and performance of Indian athletes.
  2. Collaboration on research initiatives to bring about innovation in training methodologies and equipment.
  3. Use of Digital coaching and Training in sports like others fields.

Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi will inaugurate the 141st International Olympic Committee (IOC) Session on 14th October 2023 at the Jio World Centre in Mumbai.

The IOC session serves as a key meeting of the members of the International Olympic Committee (IOC). Important decisions regarding the future of Olympic games are made at the IOC Sessions.


The 141st IOC Session, being held in India, embodies the nation’s dedication to fostering global cooperation, celebrating sporting excellence, and furthering the Olympic ideals of friendship, respect, and excellence. It provides an opportunity for interaction and knowledge sharing among the various sports related stakeholders.

The session will also be attended by President of the International Olympic Committee, Mr. Thomas Bach and other members of IOC, along with prominent Indian sports personalities and representatives from various sports federations, including the Indian Olympic Association.

* * *